Book Review, books

Quick Catch-Up Review

I’ve read a lot since Daughter of Smoke and Bone but just haven’t really been up to writing too much about any of them. They didn’t strike me too much other than Looking for Alibrandi and I’m sure I have notes stashed somewhere but here’s a quick catch-up on my recently read books!

112755
Finished up all of Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series, other than the last book since it seems it doesn’t really have much to do with the overall series. Actually, only about four of the books had anything to do with the Fever series. The others, very loosely based just off the Highlanders.  Really loved it overall. Romance, action and shady darkness. Though often times, it’s the same exact plot, no?  I went back to reread part of FEVER just so I could catch glimpses of Christian’s Uncles… I don’t like rereading too much, but I had to!

alibrandi
Slowly reading through Melina Marchetta’s bibliography and finished Looking for Alibrandi. Lovely. There’s such raw realness whenever I read her characters and even more so when it’s regular teenage angst. But it’s so much more. I can’t really begin to explain how much I enjoyed it.  This isn’t a page turner but just another wonderfully woven story by Ms. Marchetta. I’m only disappointed that I’m slowly finishing up reading everything she’s written. Sad.

darkSkye
Dark Skye 
by Kresley Cole. It’s what we’ve come to expect from Ms. Cole and her Immortal After Dark series. It’s fun, the couple has chemistry and there must be something they must overcome and achieve all while the plot moves through the Ascension.

 ashes
Beautiful Ashes 
by Jeaniene Frost was a disappointment. The premise is there and it’s interesting but at the same time, it feels done in the scheme of paranormal romance novels. Even the insta-lust that’s frequently used seems meh. Between Adrian and … the girl who’s name escapes me now, it’s supposed to be taboo and sexy but it’s neither. Adrian is interesting and even the girl but … something’s missing.

18803739
Night’s Honor
by Thea Harrison had me worried that a new pair, one who we aren’t familiar with would turn me off of series but it was nicely written.  The relationship developed and blossomed. But with so much of the plot wrapped around that, the action was slightly neglected this time around and delegated to bickering of the Vampire council and quickly wrapped up toward the end.


bullet6726595Anita Blake. My go-to when I haven’t researched any new books to read and it’s there. Flirt was at least a story with a basic plot.  Bullet was a free for all shit show of fake eroticism and metaphysicalness that just barfed all over itself. Yeah…. I read it because shit. I DON’T KNOW WHY. It’s there. It’s cute man characters that I’m used to.

curio
Curio
by Cara McKenna. Oh snap. Erotica! Now while I realize once I got to the end, this book is considered erotica, it was very charming and heart felt. Strange I would use that to describe it but the relationship between Caroly and Didier was like a soft caress. They explored each other sensuously, languorously both physically and emotionally. And as I’m used to pseudo emotional angst of male characters, Didier problems seemed real and horrifying all at once. It was a very frank and honest look into a relationship.  Honestly I enjoyed it a lot and I have to admit that I actually skipped a bit just so I could find out what happened at the end.

Standard

Leave a comment