Book Review

My Immortal

image

Book Review: Immortal Crown (Age of X #2) by Richelle Mead
Book Rating: 5/5

Wow! I’m loving this series and think this may be Richelle Mead’s best yet. There’s so much to discuss, to review and to mull over. I wonder if it’s because of the subject at hand. We’re dealing with gods so we’re ultimately dealing with religion. Although set in the future, there are exact parallels to our current world and events.

It’s interesting how because of current events, what happens in the book draws criticism and makes it more poignant. We travel to another land, where in Mae’s progressive mind is a backward, subjugating and disgusting place for women.  Then we have personal violation. Why is rape such a plot point?  I feel uncomfortable that it’s used as often as it is but sadly is that not our reality at times? I can’t say much without really spoiling anything but by the end of the book, I’d figured it out. And that is going to make this all that more interesting.

The story itself moves along wonderfully without lagging. We don’t veer too far from our main story and new gods come to play, but the plot of this one drives us along. We get Mae and Justin’s relationship, we get the follow up in Mae’s quest to find her niece, and we get more players now involved.

I loved the book. I love the series. I’m sure there are flaws but love is blind, is it not? It’s hard to be analytical when you’ve enjoyed the journey of the book so much. Let’s just lay it down, the flaws? The ease of which all the plans panned out. Obstacles were a little non-existent. They were present but very superficially. The good? Justin and Mae. That we’re moving toward something big and we want to be involved.

 

Standard

Leave a comment