Book Review

I’d Follow You Melina, I’d Follow

image

Book Review: The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta
Rating: 4/5

Well there goes my moment of Ah Ha! Damn. And here I though I was so clever, I figured it out. That Saving Francesca was as much about her own depression as it was her mother’s. Duh.

Ok onto Piper’s Son.  I haven’t figured out if there’s a deeper hidden underlying reason for this title yet. And I probably never will. It’s just really “My Father’s Son”, no? The father son dynamic trickling down from the original Tom Finch to our Tom, Bill to his stepson and Tom Finch to Dominic, the son he’ll never know, and in turn Dominic’s abandonment from our Tom.

This was yet another wonderful book by Melina Marchetta. The ties that bind families and friends are often emotional, sometimes silly but difficult and uncomfortable. Relationships are work.

I was super excited but late in discovering the follow up to Saving Francesca. The boys were the standout characters for me and I’m impressed with how they’ve grown but somehow remained the same. I’m glad I’ve caught up in their lives like an old friend having missed a few get togethers but now finally reunited. The only one I’m missing now is Jimmy Hailer. Where are you?

I’m not very used to reading books about nothing, no zombies, no apocalypse threat, no sexy badass characters, no impending curse upon the entire kingdom.  This book isn’t about nothing though, the family dynamic and the uncomfortable but relatable situations are what make it. The realness is what humbles the experience because it’s a sense déjà vu.

Melina Marchetta has an exceptional skill to write characters who are emotionally strong yet fragile. And I love them all.

I’ll be here like an old friend waiting to catch up. I’m waiting for you Jimmy.

Standard

Leave a comment